The Magic Flute

OperaUpClose Presents

The Magic Flute

  • Wed 6 Sep - Sat 7 Oct 2017, 7pm (Thu and Sat 2pm matinees excluding Thu 7 Sep)
  • Soho Theatre
  • From £10

From the Olivier Award winning team behind La Bohème and Carmen

Invited behind the velvet rope at London’s most exclusive club, Tamino doesn’t have time to stop for beggars, paparazzi, or even his girlfriend Pamina.

Going to bed after a blazing row later that night, this ordinary couple relive the events and encounters of the evening in dreams made extraordinary by the lateness of the hour, their befuddled senses, and yes, a touch of magic.

Following their hugely popular and critically acclaimed re-imaginings of operas including La Boheme and Carmen, OperaUpClose return to Soho Theatre with this bold new take on a classic.

With magic supplied by Glyn Maxwell’s mischievous poetry, Alex Beetschen’s witty orchestration and Valentina Ceschi’s theatrical creativity, this production will re-invent The Magic Flute in fabulous new robes for the era of Trump and recessions, casting rays of light and love into the darkness.

Age Recommendation: 14+

Running Time: Approx 120mins

The Magic Flute Performances

Wed 6 Sep 7:00pm
Thu 7 Sep 7:00pm
Fri 8 Sep 7:00pm
Sat 9 Sep 2:00pm
Sat 9 Sep 7:00pm
Mon 11 Sep 7:00pm
Tue 12 Sep 7:00pm
Wed 13 Sep 7:00pm
Thu 14 Sep 2:00pm
Thu 14 Sep 7:00pm
Fri 15 Sep 7:00pm
Sat 16 Sep 2:00pm
Sat 16 Sep 7:00pm
Mon 18 Sep 7:00pm
Tue 19 Sep 7:00pm
Wed 20 Sep 7:00pm
Thu 21 Sep 2:00pm
Thu 21 Sep 7:00pm
Fri 22 Sep 7:00pm
Sat 23 Sep 2:00pm
Sat 23 Sep 7:00pm
Mon 25 Sep 7:00pm
Tue 26 Sep 7:00pm
Wed 27 Sep 7:00pm
Thu 28 Sep 2:00pm
Thu 28 Sep 7:00pm
Fri 29 Sep 7:00pm
Sat 30 Sep 2:00pm
Sat 30 Sep 7:00pm
Mon 2 Oct 7:00pm
Tue 3 Oct 7:00pm
Wed 4 Oct 7:00pm
Thu 5 Oct 2:00pm
Thu 5 Oct 7:00pm
Fri 6 Oct 7:00pm
Sat 7 Oct 2:00pm
Sat 7 Oct 7:00pm

Praise for OperaUpClose’s previous production of Carmen:

‘Gripping, thrilling and though-provoking.’
★★★★ Whatsonstage

‘…makes a powerfully direct impact no opera house can match’
★★★★ Stage

‘Brutally convincing.’
★★★★ Evening Standard

‘Touchingly vigorous’
★★★★ Observer

‘Opera with intimacy,’
★★★★ The Scotsman

Praise for OperaUpClose’s previous production of La Traviata:

‘Compelling… striking music theatre of considerable integrity and force.’
★★★★ Guardian

‘As much emotional truth as in any production I have seen.’
★★★★ Evening Standard

‘Expertly done and finely performed… hits all the right notes in this excellent revival.’
★★★★ Stage

‘The whole thing looks terrific… Norton-Hale’s cunning English libretto allows the story to unfold convincingly with just five soloists.’
★★★★ What’s On Stage